Besides financing research projects, Pure Ocean also promotes races and athletic challenges with the objective of raising awareness about the critical state of our oceans. The Race for Pure Ocean challenges are exceptional races, carried out by exceptional athletes, alone or in teams, selected to draw maximum attention to threatened ecosystems and highlight the importance of protecting them.

Enduroman, an extreme triathlon between London and Paris

Engaged athlete Brice Bonneviale takes on a challenge that measures up to the current environmental emergency.

As part of the Race for Pure Ocean initiative, in June 2019 Brice Bonneviale finished the Enduroman in 75h45mn, thus becoming the 37th person to complete this extreme triathlon. On June 22nd, he started his journey from Marble Arch, London, and ran the 14Okm to Dover in 16h55mn before diving into the waters of the Channel. Landing on French soil after defying the cold and the strong currents for 21h51mn, he got on his bike for the last 290km, which he traveled in 14h37mn. He reached the Arc de Triomphe in Paris at 11:45 p.m. on June 25th. His reason to go through with this: participating in the project carried out by Pure Ocean, that finances innovations destined to protect the oceans and their biodiversity.

An exceptional challenge to launch the Race for Pure Ocean series. By undertaking this athletic challenge that demands high levels of endurance and the ability to push one’s limits, Brice wished to contribute to raise awareness about current environmental issues that are threatening not only our oceans, but the entirety of our planet’s ecosystems. As part of this ecological commitment, while Brice’s team followed him throughout the race, they picked up the rubbish they found along the way. Oceans lover, he also hoped to increase public understanding of the extent of the threats facing our oceans and put forward the solutions that exist to protect them. He therefore chose to use this challenge to raise funds for Pure Ocean.

Monte-Cristo by night challenge

Amateur swimmers participate in a night-time race in the Mediterranean Sea to show their commitment to the protection of our oceans.

On the 20th anniversary of the Monte-Cristo challenge, Pure Ocean joined the biggest open water swimming event in Europe. Around forty amateur athletes affirmed their support for the environmental cause by participating in this high level nocturnal athletic performance, the second episode of the Race for Pure Ocean series.

On June 21st, at night fall, the go-ahead was given at the Chateau d’If, one of Marseille’s most emblematic monuments. The participants, all amateur swimmers, undertook a unique athletic performance while asserting their commitment to the protection of our oceans. With the Mediterranean Sea, maritime jewel of the South of France, as its background, this challenge allowed Pure Ocean’s project to gain visibility and raised public awareness about the critical state of our oceans – and our planet more generally. Thanks to this event, 20 000€ were raised for Pure Ocean. These funds will be used to finance innovative projects to protect the oceans and their biodiversity.

The Solitaire URGO Le Figaro race

Arthur Le Vaillant, a navigator committed to oceans protection.

In 2019, Arthur Le Vaillant took on the challenge of the Solitaire URGO Le Figaro race. He was pitting against 46 other skippers in this solo sailing race between Nantes and Dieppe, divided into 4 steps around the Channel and the Celtic Sea. Leyton France accompanied Arthur in this challenge, through which they both affirmed their common commitment to protecting the environment.

With this race, Leyton chose to show its support for Pure Ocean by joining the Race for Pure Ocean initiative, hoping to trigger awareness about current environmental issues.

Moreover, technologically innovative devices for environmental protection (sensor measuring air quality…) were installed on the boat in order to be tested in the field.

Kitesurfing along 100 kilometers for a new speed record

Alex Caizergues, kitespeed world record holder, commits to protecting our oceans and attempts to set a new record.

Alex Caizergues, 4 times kitespeed World champion and 3 times Champion of France, is the most prized kitesurfer in France. He currently holds the kitespeed world record: an average of 107,3 km/h on 500 meters. In August 2019, he will try to break his own record to affirm his commitment to oceans preservation. 

Ambassador of Pure Ocean, Alex is preparing a formidable challenge for the oceans. He has established a 100 km route between Essaouira and Agadir that he will travel in one tack, as fast as possible. 

For this first Race for Pure Ocean on the African continent, a new reference time has been set: 98.4 km 3:30! A record to beat in the years to come!

Prom’Swim: A 10 km race accross the Baies des Anges in Nice

Over 300 hundreds swimmers will participate in this incredible demanding race, the last event of the EDF Aqua Challenge. 

This year, during the Prom’Swim, all Nice will swim for the Oceans on Saturday, September 21st!

A 10 km open water swim: an exceptional distance, open to all, because amateur swimmers are also exceptional athletes. The go-ahead will be given at 9am from the Plage des Ponchettes.

Prom’Swim, the final event of the EDF Aqua Challenge, is dedicated to the oceans with the 10 km race labelled Race for Pure Ocean! Prom’Swim aims to be an eco-friendly event with a beach cleanup, waste sorting for recycling and the lowest impact on the environment possible. This year, straws, plastic plates & cutlery have been banned from the Race village.

A great opportunity to demonstrate their commitment to protecting the environment and raise funds to protect marine ecosystems with Pure Ocean.

0Days0Hours0Minutes0Seconds

Crossing the Atlantic: 5000 kilometers on a rowboat

Lilian Dauzat and Guilhem Orlhac rise up to an extreme challenge and raise funds for our oceans.

Lilian and Guilhem will take on the Talisker Whisky Atlantic Challenge, qualified as “The world’s toughest row”. Departing from the Canary Islands, they will reach Antigua, in the Caribbean, in a rowing boat. An outstanding challenge that demands incredible physical and mental endurance: more people have climbed Mount Everest than rowed across an ocean. Lilian’s and Guilhem’s passion for extreme challenges and for the oceans drove them to attempt this prowess in support of Pure Ocean. 

These two confirmed adventurers will travel 5 000 km in the Atlantic Ocean on a 7 meter long monohull boat. They will spend 40 to 70 days in this boat in complete autonomy. The energy they will need for on-board instruments, lighting and communications will be generated by solar panels built-in on the boat. 

Despite the extreme meteorological conditions, the physical fatigue and the stress, we can count on our two champions to make it to the end for our oceans!

Au-delà du financement de projets de recherche, Pure Ocean promeut également des courses et défis sportifs afin de sensibiliser le public à la situation critique de nos océans. Les Race for Pure Ocean sont des courses exceptionnelles, réalisées par des athlètes exceptionnels, seuls ou en équipe, sélectionnées pour attirer un maximum d’attention sur les écosystèmes marins menacés et l’importance de les protéger.

Enduroman : le triathlon extrême entre Londres et Paris

Brice Bonneviale, sportif engagé, relève un défi sportif à la hauteur de l’urgence environnementale actuelle.

Dans le cadre de Race For Pure Ocean, en Juin 2019 Brice Bonneviale a terminé l’Arch2Arc en 75h45mn, devenant ainsi la 37ème personne  à réussir ce triathlon extrême.  Le 22 juin, il s’est élancé de Marble Arch, Londres, pour plonger, après 140km et 16h55mn de course à pied, dans les eaux  de la Manche. 34km de nage plus tard, il est arrivé sur le sol français après avoir bravé le froid et les courants pendant 21h51mn. Puis le lendemain, il a enfourché son vélo pour parcourir 290km jusqu’à Paris où il a fini son exploit 14h37mn plus tard sous l’Arc de Triomphe. Sa raison pour aller au bout de cet exploit : sa participation au projet de Pure Ocean, qui finance des innovations dédiées à la protection des océans et de leur biodiversité.

Un défi exceptionnel pour lancer la série des Race For Pure Ocean. À travers ce challenge sportif qui demande une endurance sans pareille et du dépassement de soi, Brice a voulu contribuer à une prise de conscience des enjeux environnementaux qui sont aujourd’hui une menace non seulement pour nos océans, mais pour l’intégralité des écosystèmes de notre planète. Dans le cadre de cet engagement écologique, l’équipe de Brice, en le suivant tout au long de son défi, a ramassé les déchets qui se trouvaient sur leur chemin.  Amoureux des océans, il espérait aussi porter à l’attention du grand public l’ampleur des dangers qui les menacent et mettre en avant les solutions existantes pour les protéger, et a donc décidé de relever ce défi au bénéfice de Pure Ocean.

Le Défi de Monte-Cristo by night

Des nageurs amateurs s’engagent pour la protection des océans en participant à une course nocturne dans la mer Méditerranée.

À l’occasion des 20 ans du défi de Monte-Cristo, Pure Ocean s’est allié au plus grand rassemblement de nage en eau libre d’Europe. Pour ce deuxième épisode des Race for Pure Ocean, environ 40 athlètes amateurs ont exprimé leur soutien à la cause environnementale à travers cette performance sportive nocturne de haut niveau.  

Le 21 Juin, à la tombée de la nuit, le top départ a été donné pour les nageurs au Château d’If, monument emblématique de la ville de Marseille. Les participants, des nageurs amateurs, ont réalisé une performance sportive unique tout en affirmant leur engagement pour la protection des océans. Avec pour décor la mer Méditerranée, bijou maritime du Sud de la France, ce défi a été l’occasion de donner de la visibilité au projet de Pure Ocean, ainsi que de sensibiliser le grand public à la situation critique de nos océans, et de notre planète au sens plus large. Grâce à cet évènement, 20 000€ ont pu être levés pour Pure Ocean, qui participeront à financer des projets innovants pour la protection des océans et de leur biodiversité.

La Solitaire URGO Le Figaro

Arthur Le Vaillant, navigateur engagé pour la protection des océans.

En 2019, Arthur Le Vaillant a relevé le défi de la Solitaire URGO Le Figaro. Cette course en solitaire entre Nantes et Dieppe, se divisant en quatre étapes autour de la Manche et la Mer Celtique, a opposé cette année 47 skippers. Leyton France a accompagné Arthur dans ce défi, à travers lequel ils ont porté ensemble leur engagement commun en faveur de la protection de l’environnement.

À travers cette course, Leyton a choisi de montrer son soutien à Pure Ocean en s’associant à l’initiative Race for Pure Ocean, espérant ainsi provoquer une prise de conscience autour des enjeux environnementaux actuels.

De plus, des innovations technologiques pour la protection de l’environnement (capteur mesurant la qualité de l’air…) ont été embarquées sur le bateau afin de les tester en situation réelle.

100 kilomètres en kitesurf pour un nouveau record de vitesse

Alex Caizergues, champion du monde de vitesse en kitesurf, s’engage pour les océans et tente d’établir un nouveau record.

Alex Caizergues est actuellement le kitesurfeur français le plus titré, avec à son actif 4 titres de Champion du monde et 3 titres de Champion de France en vitesse. Il est l’actuel détenteur du record du monde de vitesse en kitesurf : 107,3 km/h de moyenne sur 500 mètres. En Août 2019, il essaiera de battre son propre record pour affirmer son engagement pour la protection des océans. 

Ambassadeur de Pure Ocean, Alex se lance un défi de taille pour les océans. Il a établi un parcours de 100 kilomètres entre Essaouira et Agadir qu’il parcourra en un seul bord, le plus rapidement possible.

Pour cette première Race for Pure Ocean sur le continent Africain, un nouveau temps de référence a été établi : 98,4 km en 3h30 ! Un temps à battre dans les années à venir !

Prom’Swim : 10 kilomètres pour traverser Nice à la nage

Plus de 300 nageurs amateurs s’élanceront sur cette distance difficile lors de cette dernière étape de l’EDF Aqua Challenge.

Cette année, à l’occasion de la Prom’Swim, tout Nice nagera pour les Océans le samedi 21 septembre !

10 km de nage en eaux libres : une distance exceptionnelle, ouverte à tous, car les nageurs amateurs sont aussi des athlètes exceptionnels. Le départ se fera à 9h depuis la Plage des Ponchettes.

Prom’Swim, dernière étape de l’EDF Aqua Challenge, s’engage pour les océans et l’épreuve du 10 km devient ainsi une Race for Pure Ocean ! Tout au long du weekend, Prom’Swim s’engage en effet à recycler ses déchets et réduire son impact sur l’environnement. Cette année, pas de pailles ni d’assiettes et couverts en plastique sur le village de la course, et un grand nettoyage de la plage des Ponchettes organisé le vendredi 20 septembre à 18h !

Une belle occasion de prouver leur engagement pour l’environnement et de lever des fonds pour la protection des écosystèmes marins avec Pure Ocean.

0Jours0Heures0Minutes0Secondes

La traversée de l’Atlantique : 5000 kilomètres à la rame

Lilian Dauzat et Guilhem Orlhac relèvent un défi extrême et lèvent des fonds pour les océans.

Le 15 Décembre 2019, Lilian et Guilhem relèveront le défi du Talisker Whisky Atlantic Challenge, surnommé “The world’s toughest row” (le parcours à la rame le plus dur du monde) : partir des îles Canaries et rejoindre Antigua, dans les Caraïbes, à la rame. Un défi hors norme qui demande une endurance physique et mentale exceptionnelles : plus de grimpeurs ont gravi l’Everest que de rameurs ont traversé un océan. Leur passion commune pour les challenges extrêmes et pour les océans les a poussés à relever ce défi au bénéfice de Pure Ocean. 

Ces deux aventuriers confirmés parcourront 5 000 km dans l’océan Atlantique à bord d’un monocoque de 7m de longueur. Ils passeront donc entre 40 et 70 jours dans ce bateau en autonomie complète. L’énergie dont ils auront besoin pour les instruments de bord, l’éclairage et la communication sera générée par des panneaux solaires dont le bateau est équipé. 

Malgré les conditions météorologiques extrêmes, la fatigue physique et le stress, nous pouvons compter sur nos deux champions pour aller jusqu’au bout pour nos océans ! 

0Jours0Heures0Minutes0Secondes